Boys Varsity Basketball · Boys Basketball: Todd, Daniels Headline 5 Clippers Receiving All-Lorain County Awards

All-Lorain County Awards were announced tonight for boys basketball for the 2017-2018 season, and just like the girls, the Clipper boys feature several players receiving honors in Division II.

First team honors go to Clearview senior Sam Daniels and Clearview junior Javon Todd.  Joining Sam and Javon is Nick Denney (Firelands), Ethan Sokowlowski (Keystone) and Mason Montgomery (Vermilion) on the first team in Division II.

Second team honors go to Clearview junior Jaylen Paschel.  Joining Jaylen is Jeremy Gerhardinger (Keystone), Jonah Pfeil (Vermilion), Seth Hurd (Vermilion) and Drake Roddick (Keystone).

Honorable mentions go to Clearview senior Evan Berrios and Clearview freshman Jamir Billings.  Joining Evan and Jamir as honorable mentions are Austin Urban (Firelands), Kevin Mealwitz (Keystone), Matt Mealwitz (Keystone), Richard Maggard (Firelands), Luke Pena (Vermilion), Reese Miller (Vermilion), Norm Elias (Brookside) and Jacob Cole (Brookside).

Player of the year honors were shared this year between Vermilion’s Joby Pfeil and Keystone’s Brody Kuhl.  Coach of the year is also a shared honor, shared between Vermilion’s Kurt Habermehl and Keystone’s Jeff Holzhauer.

Clearview returns to the hardwood with a sectional championship game on Friday night to open their tournament run.  They face Fairview in a rubber match at 7 p.m. Friday at Clearview.  The Clippers and Warriors split regular season matchups.